My Fabulous Life

Hi Everyone,

It has been quite a while since I last published on this blog. Like I said in my new year message, my team and I have been working on several upgrades, a lot of which is still in progress. We are, however back and I will be sharing with you lots of my thoughts as well as the thoughts and Ideas of intelligent people that I have the honour and privilege of meeting as a result of my job as a talk show host.

Within the months that I have been away, a number of amazing things have happened to me. I will share some of them with you right now.

Sometime in November last year, I got a call from a dear friend, Nanji Tyem, the area communications manager at Starwood Hotels in Nigeria. Her purpose for calling virtually blew me away. I was invited to be the celebrity host for the Abuja Sheraton’s #pairedperfectly and international wine festival which took place on the 18th of that month.

IMG_5913

Incase you are wondering what that is, it was a new Sheraton food and beverage program comprised of artisanal small plates and eclectic bar snacks served alongside suggested premium wines and local craft beers. Paired stretches the boundaries of traditional pairing principles by blending ingredients together in new and unexpected ways for guests.

IMG_5787

 

With the wonderful people of The Abuja Sheraton at the #perfectlypaired event

 

Basically, I tasted eclectic paired menu offerings with the highly rated wines and then gave a key word that inspired the Pianist to play a song to the listening pleasure of the audience.

It was quite an elevating experience as I savored unexpected and eclectic food pairings with wine at the lobby Bar of one of Abuja’s most prime hotels. What was amazing was how Paired brought expertly matched small plates and premium wines for those who were seeking ways to experience more things with less time and live life to the fullest.

Indeed in those forty eight hours, I did live life to the fullest. I was graciously hosted at one of the hotel’s luxurious rooms. When you wake up at three a.m everyday to do a radio show, you suddenly appreciate the extra luxury this experience gives you. The breakfast was exquisite but my greatest memory was what hotel manager, Irshad Nouman told me was the Sheraton Easy Sleeper.

No kidding, the bed at the hotel was charming, comfortable and cozy. I felt spoiled rotten.

More was to come for me just a few weeks later. Christmas came early. Not long after I was informed by WEFM’s Managing Director Steve Gukas that I was to assume duties as the Program;s Manager of the radio station, I received the great news that I was nominated in two categories for the next National Broadcast Media Awards. I was nominated for Best Broadcaster ( a big one) and best presenter Morning Drive (north).

I felt honoured enough just to be nominated so I only half paid attention to the voting process and opted to push for my colleagues Kayla and Kamri to win. On awards night, I didn’t win the best broadcaster award but was ecstatic when my name was announced as best presenter morning drive.

12779103_841335776012325_1622675400433657352_o-2

There she is, The Best Presenter, Morning Drive Award

 

I feel blessed.

More landmarks came in quick succession after that. 2016 has already proved a massive year for me because within one week I hosted the British high Commissioner to Nigeria, Paul Arkwright and The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed. Kudos to my producer Kunle Adeniyi for pulling a major coup with the latter.

Both of these interviews have proved to be very memorable. I will be sharing our conversation on the show on these pages within the next few days.

20160413_085833

With Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism, Lai Mohammed

 

DSC_0496-2

With The British High Commissioner to Nigeria Paul Arkwright

 

I will still share with you big news stories that trend from both within and outside Nigeria, based on a segment of my show called “The Press Room” but I will also share with you some of the most powerful discussions I have with my gests and other active citizens who desire the same as many of us do…to see Nigeria return to its glory days and to hand over to the next generation a country better and stronger than the one we inherited.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

