Joseph Mbu Resumes As Commandant Of Police Staff College

Former Police Commissioner in Rivers State, Assistant Inspector General of Police, Joseph Mbu, has resumed as the Commandant of Police Staff College, Jos in north central Nigeria.

Having served in various police commands… including Oyo and Rivers states as well as the Federal Capital Territory as Police Commissioner, AIG Joseph Mbu was officially received at the Police Staff College in Jos, Plateau State as the new Commandant.

His first call to duty was the inspection of the guard of honour mounted by a detachment of the Staff College Police and thereafter preceded to his new office.

In a brief discussion with journalists, the Police boss explained the category of officers that received training at the college and the reason for his deployment to head the college.

His words: “I was posted here not on punishment but to come and transform the College. I did not resume early because I was on leave, I am still a serving  Police Officer and I love my job and I do my job as should be done.

“While working, I do not know wife, brother or friend. I am proud to be a Police officer. I am not a monster, my detractors are sponsored to write rubbish about me, as I am here, Officers on Course and those serving here are going to be treated well so they enjoy their jobs.

“This college is the highest Police Training institution in the country and it is a privilege to be posted here.  Our Inspector General has promised to ensure that training is his priority and that is why I was posted to help transform the College.

“I have come to build confidence in my Police men, they must work with confidence, without fear of intimidation. I don’t compromise discipline and will ensure that the tenets of the job are strictly adhered to.”

The Police boss gave the assurance that the college would witness a face lift in academic and infrastructural development that would produce disciplined and professional police officers.

The staff college trains officers from Assistant Superintendent to Assistant Commissioners of Police in Strategic Leadership and Command Course, Advance Detective Course as well as Junior Command Course.

Mr. Mbu, who was in charge of Police Zone 7, which covers Abuja and the neighbouring states, was first the Rivers State Police Commissioner until February, 2014, when he was posted to the Federal Capital Territory, FCT.

Mbu was promoted to AIG in August 2014  after leaving Rivers state after months of troubles with governor Rotimi Amaechi.

Amaechi had blamed Mbu of doing patience Jonathan’s bidding and trying to control the state.

Mbu later declared himself as the lion who tamed Amaechi whom he described as a Tiger.

In Abuja, Mbu banned protests demanding the release over 200 Chibok school girls abducted by Boko Haram, and later ordered the arrest of a journalist.

In February this year, just six weeks before the general elections, Joseph Mbu was in charge of Zone two comprising Lagos and Ogun states.

While addressing officers and men at the Ogun State Police Command headquarters, Eleweran, Abeokuta and visiting Governor Ibikunle Amosun in his office said in Abeokuta  that governors’ immunity does not extend to polling booths

He encouraged the policemen in the zone not to hesitate to return fire at anyone, whether political thugs or other perpetrators of violence in “self-defence” during the conduct of the polls.

“That’s why I said don’t touch my policeman. If you shoot at my policeman, I will shoot 20 of you, I will shoot 100 of you because we are coming to you for peace. We are not coming to you to come and kill you. You are not engaging us in gun battle. You are not armed robbers that are engaging us in gun battle. You are having communal crisis, you are politicians, we are coming to settle you and you want to kill us, I say resist, I tell you again, resist. Anybody who fires atyou, fire him back in self-defence. Anybody who fires at you, fire him back in self-defence but don’t fire first. Anybody you see who is firing at other persons, fire him because you are trying to protect that other person because the law permits you. You are empowered to stop that person from causing the harm to the other person.

Leave a Reply

