Senate Set To Resume Sitting On Today, Ministerial list ready

The Upper Chamber of the National Assembly will be resuming from its six weeks break on Tuesday.

The development was contained in a press statement by the Chairman, Senate Adhoc Committee on Media and Publicity, Senator Dino Melaye, where he dispelled speculations of a likely postponement of the resumption.

He said that the Senate will commence legislative activities and is set to welcome communication from President Muhammadu Buhari.

According to Senator Melaye, there will be no “stormy session” in the Senate on resumption contrary to rumours being peddled by a section of the media.

He also said that the leadership of the Upper Chamber and the Senators are at peace and are focused on working together for the progress of the nation.

If the President is to keep his promise to send his ministerial list before the end of September, then the list of ministers is ready. It’s been reported that President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that the prized document should be submitted immediately to the Senate, which resumes from its six-week break, today.

It was gathered, yesterday, that President Buhari handed the list to his Special Adviser on National Assembly Matters, Senator Ita Enang, and directed him to forward it to the Senate President.

Therefore, Senate President, Bukola Saraki will tomorrow formally present Buhari’s ministerial list to senators.

President Buhari, currently attending the 70th session of the United Nations General Assembly, was said to have given the list of 36 ministers to Senator Ita Enang in New York.

It was gathered that President Buhari directed Senator Ita Enang to either hand over the list to the Senate President at the resumption of the plenary today or on Wednesday, depending on the mood of the Senate.

However, it was  learned that Enang who left New York for Nigeria, yesterday, will not arrive Abuja before 3pm today, when the Senate would have concluded its business for the day.

social media was again abuzz on Monday, with a list of politicians and technocrats who are speculated to make the ministerial nominees to be sent to the Senate tomorrow.

this list is not an official list from the Presidency. Again, this is not likely the real list because some names such as that of Dr Kayode Fayemi, Femi Falana and Engineer Segun Oni are all from Ekiti State. According to the constitution, the President must appoint a minister from each state.

Here is the list:

Prof. Tam David West

Femi Falana (SAN)

Lt.-Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazu (rtd)

Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola

Wale Edun

Abubakar Malami (SAN).

Mrs. Ifueko Omoigui-Okaru

Chief Bode Mustapha

Engineer Segun Oni

Dr Kayode Fayemi

Dr. Abba Ruma

Chief Kanu Agabi

Donald Duke

Babatunde Raji Fashola

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi

Rotimi Akeredolu

Oby Ezekwesili

Festus Odimegwu

Engineer Funsho Kupolokun

Yinka Folashade Oredola

Bisola Adegbenro

Isaiah Danjuma (son of TY Danjuma)

Dele Momodu

Kehinde Lawanson

Chief Bayo Ojo (SAN)

Pat Utomi

Charles Chukwuma Soludo

Meanwhile, as Nigerians await the official announcement from President Buhari:

* Who would you want to be on the list?

* Who would you want removed from the aforementioned names?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s